There's a

Hawaii Governer Neil Abercrombie’s Executive Office on Early Learning (EOEL), and the Hawaii State Department of Education (DOE) today announced plans to launch a free preschool program at 30 DOE elementary school campuses across the state, pending legislative funding. Those schools are as follows:

Big Island:

  • Honaunau Elementary
  • Honokaa Elementary
  • Hookena Elementary
  • Kau High & Pahala Elementary
  • Keaau Elementary
  • Keonepoko Elementary
  • Konawaena Elementary
  • Mountain View Elementary
  • Naalehu Elementary
  • Pahoa Elementary


  • Eleele Elementary     
  • Kekaha Elementary     


  • Lanai High & Elementary


  • Hana High & Elementary


  • Kaunakakai Elementary


  • Hauula Elementary
  • Kahaluu Elementary
  • Kailua Elementary
  • Kaiulani Elementary
  • Keolu Elementary
  • Leihoku Elementary
  • Likelike Elementary
  • Linapuni Elementary
  • Maili Elementary
  • Makaha Elementary
  • Nanaikapono Elementary
  • Nanakuli Elementary
  • Waiahole Elementary
  • Waialua Elementary
  • Waianae Elementary

Interestingly, only 640 children in the entire state will be selected to start; in order to qualify, those children must be four years old by July 31, 2014, and their family income must meet an announced criteria.

“Our future plans for Hawaii’s comprehensive early learning system involve both public and private preschools,” Governer Abercrombie said. “We have been waiting for this opportunity. This prekindergarten program, across DOE schools statewide, is part of the public portion of the early learning system.”[1]

All that the Legislature needs to do is approve a $4.5 million request from the EOEL to fund that program.


  1. | Executive Office on Early Learning and DOE Announce Prekindergarten Program | January 9, 2014

Latest Articles

Follow Me On Twitter